MMA News 247 Awards 2010

Here they are: the MMA News 247 Awards of 2010. 2010 proved to be another year of continued growth for the sport of MMA, and along with it came incredible submissions, knockouts and fights. Listed below are our winners!

The categories were:  Fighter of the Year, Fight of the Year, Comeback Fighter of the Year, Knockout of the Year, Submission of the Year, UFC Card of the Year and Upcoming Amateur Fighter of the Year.

Fighter of the Year- Georges St. Pierre

Georges St. Pierre continued to show he was the best fighter in the UFC after dominating in both his title fights in 2010. He beat Josh Koscheck and Dan Hardy via unanimous decisions, with neither fighters even winning one round. Many fighters expect GSP to fight Silva in a “Superfight of GSP vs Silva” in 2011, but this remains to be set up by Dana White. GSP will most likely face Jake Shields next.

Fight of the Year- Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen

Chael Sonnen came into the fight against Anderson Silva as a huge underdog. The fight went for 5 rounds, and had the fight gone to a decision, Chael may very well have won the fight. 3:10 into the 5th round Silva had a remarkable turnaround and submitted Sonnen via triangle choke. Sonnen was suspended due to elevated testosterone levels, and will his suspension will end March 2, 2011.Anderson Silva is scheduled to defend his middleweight title belt against Vitor Belfort in UFC 126.

Comeback Fighter of the Year- Chris Leben

Despite Leben’s loss last night, he still receives comeback fighter of the year for 2010, since the awardsare independent of 2011 of course. Leben jumped back from 2 losses against Michael Bisping and Jake Rosholt to win 3 straight bouts in 2010. The most impressive feat was Leben had back to back wins within a span of 2 weeks, something no other UFC fighters have ever accomplished.

Knockout of the Year- Rich Franklin against Chuck Liddell

Rich Franklin knocked out Liddell’s career in UFC 115. More impressive though, Franklin did it with a broken left arm. He also received Knockout of the Night honors. Franklin looks to defeat Forrest Griffin in UFC 126 on February 5th. The knockout can be viewed below.

Submission of the Year- Phil Davis against Tim Boetsch (Modified kimura)

Phil Davis demonstrated a very unique kimura, something I’ve never seen before, to defeat Tim Boetsch. The former Penn State wrestler is quickly rising to be a quality competitor and is currently 8-0. The submission can be viewed below.

UFC Card of the Year- UFC 117

UFC 117 proved to be the best UFC Card of 2010. Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen turned to be a spectacular fight. Roy Nelson displayed incredible heart through three rounds of punishment from Junior dos Santos. (Santos won via unanimous decision) Matt Hughes won his third straight bout against Ricardo Almeida via arm triangle. Clay Guida defeated Rafael dos Anjos via submission, and finally Jon Fitch defeated Thiago Alves in a catch weight bout at 171.5 lbs. UFC 117 highlights below.

Upcoming Amateur Fighter of the Year- Brett Ewing

Brett Ewing is a fighter from Miamisburg, Ohio. He holds an amateur record of 8-0, and is the current 145 lbs Intimidation Cage Fighting title holder. Ewing’s forte is his wrestling skills. Look for him to make his professional debut in 2011.

Your Comment